Künstler: Alexander Raymond, Fragment aus "Sopor", 1995, 120x140 cm
EGCG | Details of my illness | Hunstein | Publications | Impressum



Prof. Dr. med. Werner Hunstein


Deutsche Fassung | Family Tree


Curriculum vitae

I was born in Kassel in 1928 as the second son of a practicing physician, Dr. med. Heinz Hunstein, and one of the first female dentists in Germany, Dr. med. dent. Dorothea Hunstein, neé Schmidt, of Bielefeld.

After attending middle school and high school, I spent the last days of my schooling in the air force auxiliary until September, 1944. I avoided the military draft until the arrival of American troops in March, 1945, by hiding on our large piece of land near the city.

In the ensuing chaos of the war aftermath I had private tutoring and passed the official university qualifying examinations in 1947. As there was no electricity, water, or hospitals, my father died of hepatitis in our country house




© Stefan Kresin

following a brief period in American captivity. We had moved to the country after our house in the city had been heavily damaged due to the bombing. The experience of my father's slow and painful death changed my mind about becoming a physician. Thus, I started my university studies in Marburg in the winter semester of 1947/48 in art history, German language and literature, and Romance studies.

In 1948/49 I was able to attend the University of Basel through an invitation from Swiss friends of my parents. Here I studied, among other topics, philosophy with Carl Jaspers, economics with Edgar Salin, theology with Karl Barth, and, to round out my education, zoology with Adolf Portmann. His brilliant lectures at the old university located at the shore of the Rhine - the training grounds of Nietzsche - led me to the study of medicine, which I took up again in Marburg in 1950.

After the preliminary medical exams in 1951 I continued my studies in Freiburg im Breisgau in the winter semester of 1951/1952. I completed my dissertation on lymphogranulomastosis with Ludwig Heilmeyer in 1954.

My time as an intern was greatly influenced by Prof. Bergfeld and his experienced nursing team, and I continued my education at the University Medical Clinic of Freiburg. I then accompanied pathologist Hans-Werner Altmann in a move to Berlin, where he had been offered a position. During these years (1956-1958) his personality made a strong impression on me: pathophysiological thinking combined with continual clinical inquiry into all findings and deliberations. I consequently moved with him to the University of Würzburg for a further six months. This teacher-pupil relationship was something special that has led to a life-long friendship, lasting up to the present day.


© Stefan Kresin

After returning to the University Medical Clinic of Freiburg in 1959, I continued radiological experiments with rats together with Hans-Werner Altmann and the radiologist Ernst Stutz. There I was granted directorship of the haematological laboratory as the successor of Herbert Begemann. I obtained my postdoctoral lecture qualification in 1964 in Freiburg in order to accept a position as senior physician at the Medical Clinic of Göttingen with Werner Creutzfeldt, who was the son of "Creutzfeldt-Jakob" and the grandson of the first German sociologist Werner Sombart.

While I was there, the clinic was divided by Creutzfeldt into different "departments" according to the American pattern. This promoted the development of subspecialties such as nephrology, diabetology, cardiology, haematology, pneumology, etc., and evoked the wrath of his colleagues

at that time. However, hadn't internal medicine already been split into disciplines like dermatology, neurology, and pediatrics at the turn of the century?

In Göttingen I continued my work on experimental bone marrow fibrosis.

In August, 1971, I took over as head of the Heidelberg University Medical Policlinic in the middle of a socially troubled time: the so-called socialist patient collective had barricaded itself in the clinic's basement. Only with the help of the education minister at that time, Prof. Hahn, were my colleagues, who had accompanied me from Göttingen, and I able to triumph. Within the framework of the still-developing subspecialties, I expanded the focus on haematology with the aim of enabling bone marrow transplantation.

Thus, in 1983 we were able to establish a transplantation facility with intensive care (sterile, reverse isolation) as well as a new hospital building that was connected to the main hospital via a skywalk.

Encouraged by the success of Theodor Max Fliedner's animal experiments in Ulm, which I knew about since our time together with Prof. Heilmeyer, we managed in 1985, together with Martin Körbling (now in Houston, Texas) to be the first to perform the transplantation of stem cells from peripheral blood. Due to a hyperostosis, bone marrow of this particular patient could not be used. This method, at first controversial and wrongly interpreted as self regeneration, developed surprisingly rapidly into a routine practice, also due to investigations on proliferation kinetics at our clinic by Rainer Hass (now in Düsseldorf).

This method, at first controversial and wrongly interpreted as self regeneration, developed surprisingly rapidly into a routine practice, also due to investigations on proliferation kinetics at our clinic.

Many good colleagues were able to fully realize their talents at the clinic. In line with the principles of the Humboldt brothers Wilhelm and Alexander, teachers and pupils were able to meet on the same level at "my" clinic. Each was scrutinized for his research and its results as well as his individual lectures but incorporated independently in the structure of the clinic. I supported particularly successful co-workers in securing temporary employment at institutions abroad. This began with my first chief physician, Nikolaus Uhl (now in Essen), who, after visiting Prof. Paul in Glasgow, was able to establish long-term cultures of bone marrow in normal incubators (!). Thus, he effectively continued with uraemia patients the studies on anaemia that Peter Maria Reisert and I had carried out in Göttingen on protein deprived rats. These anaemia studies had attracted the


© Stefan Kresin

attention of Frederic Stohlman, who donated to us his first experimentally useful erythropoietin extract, a blue powder.

A further success was achieved by Bernd Dörken, now at the Charité in Berlin, with the production of human monoclonal antibodies in collaboration with the Heidelberg Cancer Research Centre DKFZ. The chromosomal analysis of Hartmut Döhner, now in Ulm, together with Peter Lichter of the DKFZ, led to a new chromosome-based classification of acute leukaemia.

At the age of 68, as one of the last "Ordentliche Professors", I achieved emeritus status in October of 1996. My comfortable retirement period came to a bitter end when I was diagnosed with an extremely rare blood disease in December of 2004: lambda light-chain amyloidosis.

This website provides more information about this condition. I created it after failing, even after three years, to convince my colleagues in the field of haematology, with the exception of one, of the success of my treatment without chemotherapy. Thus, since the beginning of September, 2006, I have been successfully treating myself with green tea and subsequently green tea extract capsules (GTE), containing the main green tea polyphenol EpiGalloCatechinGallate = EGCG.

My previous assistant Antonio Pezzutto (now my personal physician) and Bernd Dörken, both of the Charité, had again further spun the threads of Erich Eberhard Wanker and his group, especially Jan Bieschke, which for me are the threads of life, with their advice to continue the treatment with EGCG as an experiment on myself, prompted through Wanker and his group's success with this substance in vitro at the Max Delbrück Center in Berlin.




N.B.: Prof. Dr. Werner Hunstein passed away on February 16, 2012 in Heidelberg. The first phase II open-label randomized trial on EGCG in cardiac AL amyloidosis started in 2012 in Pavia, Italy, under the direction of Prof. Merlini and Dr. Palladini, and is currently recruiting participants (see ClinicalTrials.gov: EpiCardiAL).

Künstler: Alexander Raymond, Fragment aus "Sopor", 1995, 120x140 cm
EGCG | Details of my illness | Hunstein | Publications | Impressum



Prof. Dr. med. Werner Hunstein


English Version | Familientafel


Curriculum vitae

Als zweiter Sohn des praktischen Arztes Dr. med. Heinz Hunstein und einer der ersten Zahnärztinnen in Deutschland, Dr. med. dent. Dorothea Hunstein, geborene Schmidt aus Bielefeld, wurde ich 1928 in Kassel geboren.

Nach dem Besuch von Volksschule 1934-1938 und Gymnasium 1938-1947 verbrachte ich das Ende der Schulzeit als Luftwaffenhelfer bis September 1944. Dem Einberufungsbefehl entzog ich mich bis zum Eintreffen amerikanischer Truppen im März 1945, versteckt in unserem grossen Grundstück vor der Stadt.

Im nachfolgenden Chaos hatte ich Privatunterricht und legte 1947 eine offizielle Abiturprüfung ab. Da es weder Licht noch Wasser noch Krankenhäuser gab, verstarb mein in kurzer




© Stefan Kresin

amerikanischer Gefangenschaft mit einer Hepatitis infizierter Vater in unserem Gartenhaus 1946 im Leberkoma. Wir hatten es nach starker Bombenbeschädigung unseres Stadthauses bezogen. Das Erlebnis des langen Sterbens hielt mich von meiner ursprünglichen Absicht, Arzt zu werden, ab. So begann ich mein Studium in Marburg im Wintersemester 1947/48 mit Kunstgeschichte, Germanistik und Romanistik.

Eine Einladung von Schweizer Freunden meiner Eltern ermöglichte mir 1948/49 ein einjähriges Studium an der Universität Basel. Hier hörte ich unter anderen Carl Jaspers in Philosophie, Edgar Salin in Volkswirtschaft, Karl Barth in Theologie und, um dieses Studium universale abzurunden, Zoologie bei Adolf Portmann. Seine brillanten Vorlesungen in der alten Universität am Rheinsprung, Lehrstätte von Nietzsche, führten mich zum Studium der Medizin, das ich, 1950 wieder in Marburg aufnahm.

Nach dem Physikum 1951 setzte ich das Studium in Freiburg im Breisgau im Wintersemester 1951/52 fort. Mit einer Dissertation über Lymphogranulomatose bei Ludwig Heilmeyer beendete ich es 1954.

Meine Zeit als Pflicht-Assistent wurde am Diakonissenhaus Freiburg durch Walter Bergfeld und seinen praxiserfahrenen Diakonissen wesentlich geprägt. Die weitere Ausbildung erfolgte an der Medizinischen Universitäts-Klinik Freiburg. Von dort nahm mich der nach Berlin berufene Pathologe Hans-Werner Altmann, von 1956-1958 mit. Seine Persönlichkeit prägte mich ganz wesentlich: pathophysiologisches Denken im Verein mit stetem kritischen Hinterfragen aller Befunde und Erwägungen. Sodann wechselte ich mit ihm für weitere 6 Monate an die Universität Würzburg. Eine lebenslange Freundschaft mit ihm bis heute belegt das Besondere an dieser Lehrer-Schüler Beziehung.


© Stefan Kresin

Zurückgekehrt an die Medizische Klinik Freiburg 1959-1964 setzte ich gemeinsam mit dem Radiologen Ernst Stutz und Hans-Werner Altmann Bestrahlungsversuche an Ratten fort. In der Klinik wurde mir bald als Nachfolger von Herbert Begemann die Leitung des Hämatologischen Labors übertragen. Ich habilitierte mich 1964 in Freiburg, um im selben Jahr als Oberarzt mit Werner Creutzfeldt, Sohn des "Creutzfeldt-Jakob" und Enkel des ersten deutschen Soziologen Werner Sombart, an die Medizinische Klinik und Poliklinik Göttingen zu wechseln.

Dort erlebte ich die Aufteilung der Klinik durch Creutzfeldt in verschiedene Departments nach amerikanischem Vorbild. Dieses förderte die Entwicklung der Subspezialitäten wie: Nephrologie, Diabetologie, Kardiologie, Hämatologie, Pulmo-

nologie usw. und erweckte den Zorn seiner damaligen Mitordinarien. Aber hatten sich nicht schon um die Jahrhundertwende aus der Inneren Medizin Fächer wie Hautklinik, Neurologie und Kinderklinik entwickelt und verselbständigt?

In Göttingen setzte ich meine Arbeiten über experimentelle Knochenmarkfibrosen fort.

1971 im August übernahm ich die Leitung der Heidelberger Medizinischen Universitäts-Poliklinik inmitten einer ungut bewegten sozialistischen Zeit; das sogenannte sozialistische Patienten-Kollektiv hatte sich im Keller der Klinik eingenistet. Nur dank der tatkräftigen Hilfe des damaligen Kultusministers, Herrn Professor Hahn, obsiegten meine aus Göttingen mitgewechselten Mitarbeiter und ich. Im Rahmen der Weiterentwicklung in Subspezialitäten baute ich die Klinik in den nachfolgenden Jahren in einen Schwerpunkt Hämatologie weiter aus, mit dem Ziel, Knochenmarkstransplantationen zu ermöglichen.

So konnten wir 1983 neben einem neuen Bettenhaus, durch einen Skywalk mit dem Haupthaus verbunden, eine Transplantationsstation mit Umkehr-Isolation (sterile Belüftung im Überdruck) einrichten.

Ermutigt durch die tierexperimentellen Erfolge von Theodor Max Fliedner in Ulm, den ich schon seit gemeinsamer Zeiten bei Heilmeyer kannte, gelang es uns 1985 als ersten eine bis heute erfolgreiche Transplantation von Stammzellen aus dem peripheren Blut durch Martin Körbling, jetzt Houston/Texas. Wegen einer Hyperostosis war bei diesem Paienten kein Knochenmark entnehmbar.

Diese Methode, anfangs umstritten und als Selbstregeneration fehlinterpretiert, hat sich, auch durch proliferationskinetische Untersuchungen an unserer Klinik unerwartet schnell zu einem Routineprozess entwickelt.

An meiner Klinik konnten sich viele gute Mitarbeiter frei entfalten. Gemäss den Grundsätzen der von Humboldt Brüder Wilhelm und Alexander sind sich in "meiner" Klinik Lehrer und Schüler auf gleicher Ebene begegnet. Jeder war für seine Forschung und deren Ergebnisse samt eigenständigen Vorträgen, zwar kontrolliert, aber doch eigenverantwortlich in das Gefüge der Klinik eingebettet. Besonders erfolgreichen Mitarbeitern ermöglichte ich Auslandaufenthalte an führenden Institutionen. Dies begann mit meinem ersten Leitenden Oberarzt, Nikolaus Uhl, dann Essen, dem es nach einem Besuch bei Prof. Paul in Glasgow gelang, Langzeit-Knochenmarkkulturen in normalen Brutschränken (!) zu etablieren. Damit setzte er gewissermassen die Studien über Anaemien nun bei Uraemie Patienten fort, die Peter Maria Reisert noch in Göttingen an proteinopriven Ratten mit mir durchgeführt hatte. Diese Anaemiestudien hatten die


© Stefan Kresin

Aufmerksamkeit von Frederic Stohlman auf sich gezogen, der uns daraufhin mit seinen ersten experimentell nutzbaren Erythropoetinextrakten, einem blauen Pulver, beschenkte.

Ein weiterer Erfolg gelang Bernd Dörken, jetzt Charite Berlin, mit der Produktion humaner monoklonaler Antikörper in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Heidelberger Krebs-Forschungs-Zentrum DKFZ. Die Chromosomen- analysen von Hartmut Döhner, jetzt Ulm, zusammen mit Peter Lichter vom DKFZ führten zu einer chromosomal begründeten Neueinteilung von akuten Leukaemien.

Mit 68 Jahren erreichte ich, einer der letzten "ordentlichen Professoren", den Emeritus Status im Oktober 1996. Dieses Ausgemustert-Sein fand ein jähes Ende mit der Diagnose einer extrem seltenen Blutkrankheit im Dezember 2004: Lambda Leichtketten Amyloidose.

Darüber gibt diese Website nähere Auskunft. Ich habe sie eingerichtet, nachdem es mir auch in drei Jahren nicht gelungen ist, meine haematologischen Kollegen, bis auf einen, vom Erfolg meiner Weiterbehandlung ohne Chemotherapie seit Anfang September 2006 zu überzeugen, dies gelang anfangs nur mit grünem Tee, dann mit Tee-Extrakt Kapseln, d.h. EpiGalloCatechinGallat = EGCG.

Wieder hatten meine vormaligen Schüler Antonio Pezzutto -mein behandelder Arzt- und Bernd Dörken, beide Charite, die Fäden von Erich Eberhard Wanker und seiner Gruppe, besonders Jan Bieschke, für mich als Lebensfaden weitergesponnen mit dem Rat, die Behandlung als Selbstversuch mittels EGCG fortzuführen, veranlasst durch die in vitro Erfolge dieser Substanz durch Wanker und seiner erfolgreichen Gruppe am Max Delbrück-Centrum in Berlin.




N.B.: Prof. Dr. Werner Hunstein verstarb am 16. Februar 2012 in Heidelberg. Die erste randomisierte klinische Studie über EGCG bei kardialer AL Amyloidose startete 2012 in Pavia, Italien, unter der Leitung von Prof. Merlini und Dr. Palladini, und rekrutiert zur Zeit Teilnehmer (siehe ClinicalTrials.gov: EpiCardiAL).